In search of the real me

I was born with my soul. The self that I am now, has been created over the years. Layers and layers of experiences , responses, reactions, observations, etc have formed the self. And under all those years and layers, the soul lies buried. Unseen and unfelt but not totally unheard. I can sometimes feel like someone inside is trying to tell me something. Remind me of the real me. Not the accumulated me. Many times I feel a voice inside. Especially when emotions like anger and hatred take control of my tongue. I sometimes listen to it, though it’s distant and weak. Sometimes when I purposely sit down and think about this part of me, I feel peaceful and calm. I can feel my soul and my body. I can feel who I am. I cannot really describe it. The feeling lasts only for a minute or so. But the memory of it wants me to get in touch with my soul. This too doesn’t  last long. Situations, circumstances, people are there for my reactions, responses….. And I am lost to myself again. Until I try to find myself again.

Leave a comment